Should I let my hens hatch chickies or use incubator???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ChickLover98, Aug 6, 2010.

1. ChickLover98

ChickLover98 The Chicken Princess

Apr 24, 2010
    Pennsylvania
    I'm totally new to breeding and hatching chicks... I'm hoping to get some chicks in the upcoming months and I dont know if its better to let my hens hatch the eggs or take them inside to incubate them. Also, any other helpful information that I can use, please tell. Thank you! My chickies thank you!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

*Also, my roo is Rhode Island Red and my hens are Amber link. Guess I forgot to mention that up there...

Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  2. BeccaB00

BeccaB00 Songster

Jun 16, 2010
    Kansas
    It just depends [​IMG] chicks will be safer inside so there fore you have a higher chance of more surviving. If you let the hen hatch them you will need a hole seperate pen to seperate momma and the chicks when they hatch or else the bigger chickens could kill the babies.
    whatever you wanna do [​IMG] chicks will also be tamer if you hatch them in an incubator.

3. ChickLover98

Apr 24, 2010
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks so much! I'm thinking about incubating them because of my six other hens and big roo. I dont know if the roo would be protective over them or kill them. My other hens may kill them too. Is it safe to put other chicks with my hens now? If i raise them inside would it be ok to put them back with my hens outside or would they be unacceptave towards the chicks? What about the roo? Also, when would it be best to bring the eggs inside? My hens don't sit on the eggs, so should i just save them to eat or try to incubate them? Thanks! [​IMG]

4. elmo

elmo Songster

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    You have to wait for a hen to go broody before it's even possible to consider hatching eggs naturally. I don't know anything about the breed you have, but not all breeds go broody, and not all hens of a broody breed will go broody, either.