should I put them in the bator?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bluedawg, Oct 31, 2008.

1. bluedawg

bluedawg Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 7, 2008
    Croton on Hudson
    So I got some eggs from ebay and they just arrived. They are blue laced red wyandotts. Yesterday I put beautiful black copper marans eggs in and these wyandotte eggs don't look clean and healthy to me... but I am new at this. When I looked at some candling photos in the "learning center" these eggs look like the photo that says "this egg may be contaminated with bacteria" So I don't want to put them in with my good eggs. Am I being too cautious?

-M

2. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    I would put them in and see if any develop !! You wont know if they are good in till you try (as long as none stink or are leaking). Did the air sacs look ok ??

3. bluedawg

Jul 7, 2008
    Croton on Hudson
    I am getting set up to have a god second look at them now. I will have to review the learning section to see what I am looking for in an egg sac. My only concerne in putting them in with the other eggs was if they could contaminate my other eggs. If they hve bacteria could they?

4. hypnofrogstevie

hypnofrogstevie chick magnet

Jul 12, 2007
    Newton NJ
    They just arrived? I wait 6 hours - 24 hours before they go in the bator.

5. bluedawg

Jul 7, 2008
    Croton on Hudson
    yes I will wait - I have some time to decide.
    -M

6. bluedawg

Jul 7, 2008
    Croton on Hudson
    I see a good air pocket in there. But they are so severely pock marked I m afraid they might be unhealthy.

7. ItsSuzzie

ItsSuzzie Chillin' With My Peeps

Ok, I want to incubate, and will start soon. I have been reading on the internet in groups like this one, etc. Yes, I agree..when you receive hatching eggs from the mail the embryos need to settle down. Your eggs need to settle with the air sac up, large end up.