Should I start them on medicated feed?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by LibrariHen, Jul 2, 2011.

1. LibrariHen

LibrariHen Out Of The Brooder

Jun 27, 2011
    Total newbie here...
    I got 3 girls last week, different ages but they were all between 6-8 weeks old. The guy I got them from was not feeding them medicated feed. Should I start now? I know that the point of it is to help them develop their little immune systems, so would they still need it, or are they old enough that they should be okay?
    (I unthinkingly bought unmedicated, but can go and get the medicated stuff today).
    thanks!

2. BoltonChicken

BoltonChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2011
    Bolton, Mississippi
    I would always use medicated chick starter until the 18th week, when I would switch to regular layer food. No, it surely will not hurt
    them to start it now. Better late than never.

3. N&MSchroeder

N&MSchroeder Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2011
    SE Idaho
    Hi and [​IMG] I have never fed my chicks medicated feed so you should be fine continuing with unmedicated since that is what they were started on. [​IMG] Have fun with your chicks and be sure to post pictures! What kind(s) do you have? [​IMG]

4. N&MSchroeder

Feb 4, 2011
    SE Idaho
    and yes, this is how BYC works! You have received two responses offering completely different advice! [​IMG]

5. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    i will chime in, I prefer the medicated, but it is a personal choice...good luck and welcome!

6. LibrariHen

LibrariHen Out Of The Brooder

Jun 27, 2011
    Thanks for the quick replies! Looks like I'll need to decide myself... [​IMG]

I have a Rhode Island Red, a Buff Orpington, and a Barred Rock. They are sweeties and I am so excited to be raising chickens!

7. N&MSchroeder

Feb 4, 2011
    SE Idaho
    Quote:[​IMG] These are great breeds!

8. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas