Should we cover drywall with non-permeable material?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Chicka-boom Chicka-boom, May 20, 2011.

1. Chicka-boom Chicka-boom

Chicka-boom Chicka-boom Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2011
    Hi everyone [​IMG]
    I am new to this whole chicken thing, and as of yet we don't have any chickens [​IMG] We are converting a shed/studio into a henhouse. My husband's concern is the smell the chickens will produce [​IMG] and if it will permanently affect the interior walls [​IMG] which are drywalled and painted. I have seen some pictures of others coops and one used some bathroom wall board on their walls which are easy to clean. I have read of something called Glasbord. Does anyone have experience with this type of shed/coop? Should we be covering the walls in something or will they be fine if left as they are (painted drywall). Thanks for your input/advice! [​IMG]

2. Farmer_Dan

Farmer_Dan Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Seattle
    I doubt the smell will "stick" in the walls.

However, really the only way to keep the smell down is to clean a LOT. Like daily. also, if you use sand as litter, you can "scoop" (like a kitty box) daily and really have no smell at all.

I would worry about the chickens pecking the walls and eating the drywall though, that can't be good for them.

3. CelticOaksFarm

CelticOaksFarm Family owned, family run

Sep 7, 2009
    Florida - Space Coast
    Chickens peck, and can and most likely will peck the walls and you don't want them eating the drywall. Would either remove it or cover it.

4. Desert Rooster

Desert Rooster El Gallo Del Desierto

Sep 4, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca
    Quote:2x

5. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada