1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Show Me Your Fence Pictures For Your Chickens

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by DOEBOY, Sep 11, 2011.

1. DOEBOY

DOEBOY Out Of The Brooder

Aug 26, 2011
    I am fairly new to the chicken rearing and have put the cart before the horse buying too many chicken too fast. Well before I really knew the penalty of chickens pooping on the carport floor. Needless to say my wife is not happy, with the poop that is. I love my chickens, so does she, we have 24 total, 20 that are teatering on the fence to start laying and 4 old hens that give 1-2 eggs per day. Anyway I think a fence will be the solution to the problem with the poop. My coup is a converted dog palace on stilts and I think I did a fairly nice job on the coup and the run that is attach not having any plans to go by and all. So I would really like to build a fence to offer some protection from the large pedators ( foxes, coyotes, skunks, ...) during the day time but mostly to keep the girls in. So I can still enjoy martial bliss. Also to be able to let them out first thing in the morning and corral them so the only place they could lay is in the coup. One of the problems is the shade in the summer time heat or even a place to block the wind in the winter. I would like to build a fence that is permenant and looks nice. I was thinking about using 2x4 hog wire, what we call it, and treated 2x4 lumber. It would be approximately 30 x 60 ish depending on the space for the garden out side the fence. If you have pictures please post them I am somewhat lacking in the creativity department. Thanks Doeboy

2. henney penny

henney penny Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2009
    Northern Maine