Showing question

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by tnnsewalkin, Aug 21, 2011.

1. tnnsewalkin

tnnsewalkin Out Of The Brooder

Jun 13, 2011
    I am new to showing chickens, and could not find any good articles online on what I need to have and do to attend a chicken show, could anybody please help me out [​IMG]

2. riane'smimi

riane'smimi Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2010
    orange va
    I am bumping this for you [​IMG] I sorry I don't have the answers for you.What I am going to do is email the man sponsering the show here in Va.I think if you do the same for the show you are interested in We may get enough info to at least know somewhat what we are doing [​IMG]
    I also plan on attending a few shows to learn from them.I find that chicken people are willing to help beginers.Good luck [​IMG]
    Also call your local extension office

3. sjarvis00

sjarvis00 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Shawnee, OKlahoma
    Quote:to attend you only need to show up,
    to enter your birds you will need your Flock Heath Certificate or NPIP certificate.
    Locate the shows you would like to attend, contact teh show management or sponsor club and request a show catalog.
    there are entry deadlines, so make sure you get your entries in on time.
    As time progresses, you will learn to plan your shows ahead of time, and time your hatches to support the shows you plan to attend.

This is the starter, getting birds show ready through conditioning, bathing, handling etc. will come at a later time. All of these items are based on teh breed and variety you plan to show.

4. LauraB

LauraB Out Of The Brooder

Aug 22, 2011
    Chicagoland
    I'm still learning a lot about chickens and showing too.

My daughter showed some chickens, a white silkie, a partridge cochin and a mille fleur d'uccle, at a 4-H county fair in July. She got 2 blue ribbons, a red and a grand champion.