sick austrolorp

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickenmom1, Nov 3, 2010.

1. chickenmom1

chickenmom1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2010
    I'm new at this and I have a chicken who is puffed up and in the corner of the coop. what do I do? What do I look for in her. She has always been one of my beauties and never had a problem. Please help.
    J

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

Can you give us more information? That would help narrow things down. Take a quick look at the "emergencies" sticky for basic guidelines.

3. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello there, so sorry to hear that. First thing, since you don't know what's wrong, you should isolate her from the others, just in case she could be contageous.

Then, look her over real good. Does she display any symptoms, like raspy breathing, or nasal drainage? Are her eyes clear, is the vent area clean, and not covered with poo? Can you see an injury of any kind?

Does she respond when you talk to her? Does she perk up and walk or is she just setting and not moving? Will she drink or eat?

There could be so many things.......Let me know and then maybe we could go from there.....

Sharon

4. chickenmom1

Jan 29, 2010
    Thanks for replying.
    She is 3 years old.
    She has been a little slow the past couple of days. Not integrating as much or moving around.
    She won't eat or drink this morning.
    She can barely stand and keeps closing her eyes to rest.
    No bleeding or obvious injury.
    Eyes look clear.
    Missing some feathers on her butt, but some of them do that on occasion.
    Haven't seen her poop yet, but I put her in a box of straw in the house hope to see soon.
    I probably won't take her to a vet.
    I have 50 chickens, 36 are 6 month old pullets. They free frange in the afternoon's and then put themselves to bed. I lock up the coop after dark.
    I have a decent size coop..