sick birds?

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by ODEY587, Nov 17, 2011.

1. ODEY587

ODEY587 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 22, 2011
    I am new to peafowl I just got to six month olds there acting fine eating good and poop looks normal but there making like a coughing sound sometimes is this normal? If not what should I treat them with? THANKS Josh

2. ODEY587

Oct 22, 2011
    Anyone???

3. Resolution

Resolution Chillin' With My Peeps

They may have an upper respiratory infection and or gapeworm.

Crack a pumpkin in half and use it as a feeder. Only put wildbird seed and dog food in the pumpkin halves. Stop feeding soft feed ( crumbles, soft pellets, mash).
    Sprinkle table spoon of diatomaceous earth per bird into some canned cranberry sauce with whole fruit- and provide this each evening for four days.

If the coughing continues write back. I don't suggest worming or providing antibiotics unless you actually know what is wrong with the bird.
    A big mistake many people make is medicating birds with no real knowledge of what they're dealing with. This ends up creating antibiotic resistant strains of bacterium and viruses. Worming is also rough on the systems of your birds. It's a short term and necessary thing to do in your husbandry but you must have a real plan of action.

In the short term, get yourself extremely knowledgeable with the sinus cavity of the fowl .

In the eventuality that you may have to treat for an upper respiratory infection you'll have to be confidant and knowledgeable with this region of the head. Treatment is actually quite easy if you follow directions exactly and are confident in your medical skills. It's not that intimidating if you have a steady hand and don't falter- have a steady helping hand as well.

Firstly, you need to boost the immune system of the bird. This is critical.

4. ODEY587

Oct 22, 2011