sick chick Please HELP

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by carol0710, May 20, 2008.

1. carol0710

carol0710 Out Of The Brooder

May 9, 2008
    Toano,Va
    I have a total of 24 chicks. a few of them have diarrhea, a couple are all very soft no form to it at all, some have form to it, but brown and running stuff with it. Others are fine.
    I am not sure what is going on.
    I am new to the chicken world and any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you in advance.
    Carol

Last edited: May 21, 2008
  2. chickenlady

chickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2007
    Stillwater, NJ
    How old are these chicks? What temp do you have them at? What are you feeding them? Sometimes chicks will have a quick bout of diarrhea and nothing is wrong with them at all. Are they eating and drinking and acting normal?

3. vwoods

vwoods Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2008
    Spotsylvania, Virginia
    I noticed with my new chicks that for a few days, even up to a week, that their poops are not very formed yet. Just like a newborn baby has meconium stools to start with, I think baby chicks do as well. I would say if they are eating well and active they must be okay. What food are you giving them? How about a supplemental vitamin additive to their water? I used quik chick vitamin/mineral supplement from McMurray as an additive for the first 3 weeks to the water with great results. Ive also read of other people using poly vi sol also. Well, hope this helps and everything goes well.

4. chcknrs

chcknrs Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2008
    Kelso, WA
    I gave my new chicks plain organic yogurt. It seems to give them a jump start for the gut, and they are pooping just fine!

5. vwoods

vwoods Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2008
    Spotsylvania, Virginia