Sick chick? What could be wrong?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mnmom4, Oct 27, 2014.

1. mnmom4

mnmom4 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2012
    Columbus, MN
    We brought home 12 one and a half week old chicks from our local farm store yesterday. They were all fine and active yesterday and up til this morning. I noticed one of the Buff Orpingtons was acting very sleepy and not very active. She is quickly going down hill at this point. Not eating or drinking, hiding in a corner away for the rest who were all playing and chasing after flies. She's sleeping standing up, not even bothering to open her eyes anymore. What could be the problem? None of the others are showing any of the same symptoms at this point. We are continuing to feed them the same medicated feed that they have been eating. Plenty of fresh water. Temp in the brooder is about 90. This is our first time with chickens, so I'm a newbie!

2. HighStreetCoop

HighStreetCoop Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2014
    Oakland, CA
    My Coop
    Sometimes chicks just don't thrive (or she could have gotten chilled when shipped to the store). It sucks, but it is what it is. Hopefully she'll get better. *fingers crossed*

3. mnmom4

Mar 2, 2012
    Columbus, MN
    Anything I can do to help while we wait and see?

4. HighStreetCoop

Aug 28, 2014
    Oakland, CA
    My Coop
    Make sure it is a warm spot and knows where the water is. That's about it. I lost two to shipping because the post office held them overnight in Sacramento for no earthly reason and their heat pack ran out.

Good luck!

5. SIMZ

SIMZ Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    Northwest Indiana