Sick Chicken? or First Egg?

oreochip

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jan 25, 2010
Fort Worth
I am new to raising chickens. My three girls are 5 months old and have not laid an egg yet. This morning Maude will not free range with the other two. She was by herself at the far end of the yard and seemed to be searching for a place to "get away". I put her back in the coop and left her alone. Could she be sick or is this a sign of a "first egg"?

Hmmm, that's pretty bizarre. My girls do start acting pretty strange right around their first egg, sort of restless. Generally, that's accompanied by a lot of squawking and the egg song on repeat. How is she doing now? Any other strange behavior?

ETA: Twin grandbabies, that's very exciting!!

Last edited:
I put all three back in the run. She is inside the coop by herself. She will sit for a few minutes. the pace, then sit again. The other two are leaving her alone as if they know that something is wrong. That is really the unusual part because they are inseperable. One cannot not do something without the other two joining in. If it is an egg....I hope it comes soon so that all my worries/questions will be answered.

I guess the egg song is the noise that they make over and over until the pain of laying an egg is over?

Yes, twins being delivered on Tuesday.

That sounds pretty normal. Some other signs I noticed just before the first egg was layed was that my hens would do this little "squatting" pose if I reached out to pet them.

Then, one would kind of act anxious and pace around, going in and out of the coop......then....TA-DA! First egg!

Good luck and let us know about your first egg! It's coming, I'll bet!

Sharon

Sharon,