Sick chicken! Please help.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Stokes254, Sep 2, 2016.

1. Stokes254

Stokes254 New Egg

Sep 2, 2016
    Hi my name is Mason. This is my first time on this site so this may be in the wrong section. Anyway I have a Rhode Island Red who is about a year and a half old. Shes always been a good layer and hasnt had any problems. Today she stayed in the coop until i took her out and she wont move, her comb and waddle is flushed, her tail is down, and her mouth is open. She then pooped what almost looked like egg yoke.

Recently my other hen became broody for about a month and a half and after trying to get her out of the nesting box I just bought her a chick and she adopted it. Ever since then she has been pecking the Rhode Island Red. Maybe connected but I don't know.

Any help would be appreciated. For now I'm keeping her secluded from the other hen and chick.

[​IMG]

2. Hens rule

Hens rule Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2015
    USA
    :welcome
    It looks like she is egg bound and the egg may have broke inside her. Soak her in warm water incase the egg isn't broken. Check to see if you can see broken egg around her vent. Also it sounds like she's being bullied so keep her secluded.

Last edited: Sep 2, 2016
  3. Stokes254

Stokes254 New Egg

Sep 2, 2016
    Thanks for the reply. I havnt seen any egg shell but I will check. I figured it was a broken egg the minute she pooped that yellow yoke looking stuff out but would the other symptoms I mentioned go along with that?

4. Hens rule

Jan 28, 2015
    USA