Sick Chicken W/Pale Comb, Diarrhea, Heavy Weight Loss

jennyniesy

Hatching
Jul 29, 2015
Hello I am new to the thread and am hoping I can get some help. I have a very sick Brahma hen, she is 8 months old. I went out to the coop the other day and noticed diarrhea on her under feathers. When I went over to look at her she was very pale, her face, comb and waddles. I picked her up and she is severely underweight. She normally does not let me touch her and did not try to fight or move. She was also very cold.

I brought her into the house and have since force fed her electrolyte water with vitamins and have force fed her cooked egg yolk. The first day her stool was a very hard small ball, now after almost a week of being in the house it is like water. Clear with a little green and white, not much. She is still not eating or drinking. All she does is sleep, I force her to wake up so I can feed her.

I have ordered Rooster Booster to de-worm her, but am not sure if that is the problem. I also need to de-worm 1 chicken not my whole flock (at least for now). Do I give her a few pellets?? Mix it in her water and force it down?? I do not have a vet I can take her to so I figured I'd start with the de-worming.

She also gasps for air at times but I do not hear her lungs crackling at all. I did check her for being egg bound and she is not. She does not have lice or mites and I see no injuries on her. I have checked her numerous times and even gave her a bath to see if I could see bugs in the water, there was nothing.

I know it is not looking good for her but I am not willing to give up on her!

It wouldn't hurt to worm her and treat for coccidiosis with Corid.. Not sure if Rooster Booster wormer is effective though. Does she have any snot or discharge coming from her eyes?

No, no discharge from eyes or nose. Can I worm her and treat her with Corid at the same time?