Sick Chicken

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Belinda Swim, Dec 2, 2012.

1. Belinda Swim

Belinda Swim Out Of The Brooder

Dec 2, 2012
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    We are new chicken parent's. We just bought 6 chicken's six day's ago. One of them seems to be sick. She is spending most of her time sitting either by her food dish or by her water dish. She has been sneezing and even sound's wheezy. She has been like this for the last 4 day's and I am really starting to worry. Should I be worried? Do you know of anything I can do to make her feel better? It's breaking my heart to see her like this.

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Hello and welcome to BYC [​IMG] Sorry to hear about your sick chicken. It is important that you separate her from the other 5 IMMEDIATELY. It sounds to me that she may have some respiratory disease, I'm no expert, but many of these diseases are contagious and it's better to play it safe. Post over in the emergencies and diseases section, here's a link:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/10/emergencies-diseases-injuries-and-cures

And ask the more knowledgeable members what you can give her. Good luck!

2 people like this.
  3. Belinda Swim

Dec 2, 2012
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Thank you for the advise it is much appricated.

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Hope you find out the problem and the cure soon [​IMG]

5. Belinda Swim

Dec 2, 2012
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Thank you. Hubby helped me build a little chicken hospital. She is away from the others has plenty of food and water, and getting lot's of love. If there's a way to nurse her back to health I'll do it. I think the man sold a sick chicken [​IMG]

6. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Hi and welcome to BYC from northern Michigan :D