Sick chicken?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by MemphisHens, Sep 6, 2014.

1. MemphisHens

MemphisHens New Egg

Aug 17, 2014
    California
    I'm very new to all this, but I came home today to find one of my newer chickens acting different. She was huddled in one spot looking a little droopy. Her comb is droopier and a little more pale than usual, her tail is definitely drooping, and she just seems slow and lethargic.
    I've separated her from the others and gave her some water, which she seemed very eager to have. It's in the 90s here today so I'm not sure if maybe she's just dehydrated? Or could it be something else?
    I checked her over and everything else looks normal (But again, I am new to this so I may have missed something).

Any suggestions for what to do next or remedies to try would be so appreciated. Thank you!

2. HugHess

HugHess Chickrack Addict

Jul 14, 2014
    Go BROWNS
    I hope some of the veterans get on here to help give sage advise.
    Just wondering if they will want more information?
    Examples:
    How long have you had her? Is she new to the rest of the flock?
    Where is she in the pecking order (low and getting picked on) ?
    No visible injuries or anomalies after you inspected her beak to toe? Is her crop 'normal'?
    Is she an egg layer (egg bound) ?
    Can you track the condition of her stools? (Coccidiosis, internal or external parasite infestation)
    Any other visible signs or symptoms? Sneezing, coughing, raspy breath, labored breathing, watery eyes, diarrhea, is she eating? I just gave myself a headache, so don't wish to do the same to you...

I am learning right along with you so sorry for all questions and no answers, but I do NOT want to disseminate erroneous info or advise...just want to be part of a solution vs. another problem...
    Will look forward to any update you may give.

We're here for you.

3. gracielouwho

gracielouwho Out Of The Brooder

Sep 6, 2014