Sick chickens

Bunnyluvsxhickens

In the Brooder
Sep 21, 2021
So I’m new to chickens and for my first flock we did great bu we have this new flock and hey are getting what looks like an upper respiratory infection we have been using Vet RX but what else can we do we have lost a few birds already and now our older birds not even mixed with this flock are showing some same symptoms. I have corid here it says it will help with upper respiratory is this true? We are in a very small town with no big feed store so welcome any help!

No Corid is only for treatment of coccidiosis, not for respiratory diseases. Have you added already started chickens to your flock? That is a way that a disease may be introduced unwittingly, if they have been exposed in their previous flock. Diseases are easily spread from one flock to another, on hands and shoes, and equipment. Wash your hands between flocks, and change shoes.

What symptoms have you seen? Bubbles or foam in eyes, swollen eyelids and pus, nasal drainage, gaping, head shaking, sneeze or cough, or wheezing could be possible symptoms. Is there any bad odor from their faces? If you lose another, keep the body cold, not frozen, and consider sending it in to the state vet for a necropsy. Soorry for your loss.

No Corid is only for treatment of coccidiosis, not for respiratory diseases. Have you added already started chickens to your flock? That is a way that a disease may be introduced unwittingly, if they have been exposed in their previous flock. Diseases are easily spread from one flock to another, on hands and shoes, and equipment. Wash your hands between flocks, and change shoes.

What symptoms have you seen? Bubbles or foam in eyes, swollen eyelids and pus, nasal drainage, gaping, head shaking, sneeze or cough, or wheezing could be possible symptoms. Is there any bad odor from their faces? If you lose another, keep the body cold, not frozen, and consider sending it in to the state vet for a necropsy.