Sick Chick's and egg questions

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by New2chickensnky, Feb 19, 2008.

1. New2chickensnky

New2chickensnky Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2008
    Hello. As my screen name states, I am new to chickens here . I have a few questions.. First , we had 2 chickens, a hen and a roo that just dropped dead for no reason. They were fine one hour , and dead the next. At first when it was just the hen , it did not seem strange to us because things happen, than , 4 days later , our roo was out in the pen doing great and when we went out to feed a hour or so later , he was laying in the middle on the ground dead. He had not been dead long as he was not stiff yet. The others in the pen look great , act great , and are still laying eggs everyday. Does anyone knowwhat this could have been? We had a bit of corn that went bad and we did feed them some before we knew it , but when they died , we went and looked at all the possiabilities, we are no longer feeding them that batch of corn. We also had them on vitiams from the hachery company, but have stopped that for the time being . Any and all information would be great..

Now my next question. We wanted to hatch some eggs out , and since the roo died, we were wondering how long does it actually take for an egg to be fertile. I understand there is a chance that not every egg will be fertile , but he died 6 days ago and we were wondering if the eggs we collect today will be ok? We have since replaced the roo , got a new one this past Friday, and was wondering how long it takes for them to make a fertile egg?? Sounds odd I know , but we know very little about chickens right now . In case you need to know , these are red star chickens. Thanks to each and evey one of you who try to help me... Thanks again , Robyn [​IMG]

2. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member