Sick chicks??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by MsLipGlossy, Aug 11, 2013.

1. MsLipGlossy

MsLipGlossy New Egg

Aug 7, 2013
    The MITTEN!
    I bought 6 day old chicks from MyPetChicken. [​IMG]4 Silkies and 2 Easter Eggers. When my chicks arrived one of the Silkies would lay on it's side and back, wasn't drinking well and ending up dying the day after I received it. The other 5 chicks seemed perfectly fine. I thought maybe it just didn't do well shipping to me and chalked it up to that. The next day my daughter's favorite (EE) was laying dead in the brooder. This chick was the most friendly and seemed to be doing REALLY good! Dead! No indication of why. The next day I started to worry about another SIlkie, she seemed more sluggish than the others and was laying away from them all day. Vents are all clean. Last night that Silkie passed away as well. I am new to chickens, I thought I did my research well before I received the babies. HELP, please!!! Any ideas? Should I treat my last 3 with Corid, could this be Coccidiosis? No sign of any blood in their poops, eating well, drinking well and proper temp. I'm not really sure what I should do. I don't want to leave them and figure "they'll be ok" because the last 2 weren't. But I just don't know what to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!![​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio