Sick chicks??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jl9148927, Mar 5, 2015.

1. jl9148927

jl9148927 New Egg

Mar 5, 2015
    I went to my local Orschlens to get chicks but they didn't have the ones I wanted yet so they sent me to the nearest one that had it. They only had two but we took them home anyway. They were both doing great the first night, then the second night one of them got sick. It couldn't stand up or stay awake long and it was having little spasms that I were almost like seizures. I tried everything to save the chick, but with no luck. Once my local Orschlens got theirs in, I went and got 3 more. Again, they were all healthy for the first night, but today one of my chicks is starting to do the same thing. As this is my first time having chickens, I am at a loss of what is going on and what I should do about it. Please help!

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC - sorry you are having such a rough start to your chicken keeping adventures.

Can you tell us a bit more about how you are keeping the chicks once you get them home? What is the size of your brooder, what is the brooder made of, how are you heating it, what are you using for food/water/bedding, etc? Are you seeing the chicks eat, drink and eliminate?

3. enola

enola Overrun With Chickens

You are not using a teflon coated bulb are you?

4. cavemanrich

cavemanrich Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    Are they in a brooder with heat? the temp needs to be proper and reduced as days go by. If not, then go to the learning center at top of page and read up. I HOPE THINGS WORK OUT FOR YOU.

AND [​IMG]

5. jl9148927

jl9148927 New Egg

Mar 5, 2015