Sick hen - any advice appreciated

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by longday, Oct 20, 2013.

1. longday

longday Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2012
    I have 3 australorps. One has had mud butt for a month or more, so I offered grit and oyster shell, but it didn't fix the problem. Today she's looking unwell - tail drooping, mouth open, head to the sky and making small chirping sounds (she's normally the loud one). I can't see any other symptoms. I believe she's still laying, although probably not every day. Any suggestions on what to do? Thanks!

2. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

How old is this bird and are they on a regular deworming program?

3. longday

Jan 24, 2012
    She's about 2 years old. I'm embarrassed to say that I've never dewormed...I guess I'm a newbie and didn't realize I should be. I've been watching her just now and she seems to be stretching her neck skyward (maybe as she chirps).

4. longday

Jan 24, 2012
    Update and new questions: I got Rooster Booster worming pellets, probiotics and electrolytes. I isolated my hen but she's clearly not eating or drinking and is gasping for breath. Her butt is a mess, but she has no nasal discharge or any other symptoms that I can see. I fed her two or three worming pellets and about 25cc of the probiotic/electrolyte mix.

Questions:
    1. How much fluid should I try to get into her?
    2. Should I hand feed her layer pellets or scratch or will she be ok for a time without eating? Will I hurt her by "force" feeding her while she's trying to get in more air?
    3. Should I try to bath her to clean her butt or will that stress her more right now? If I bath her, how do I go about it?

Sorry for the dummy questions...I'm definitely still on my training wheels, and I'm already feeling guilty for not realizing I had to worm regularly and for letting it get to this stage, so please be gentle. :)

Last edited: Oct 20, 2013
  5. longday

Jan 24, 2012