1. parkersmom120106

parkersmom120106 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 9, 2008
    Middleburg, FL
    I'm new to chickens so I have no idea what I should do in this situation. The hen in question is a white leghorn, supposed to be about 10 months of age. I bought her along with 3 others almost 3 weeks ago. I've already found one of them dead in the coop. Yesterday I went out to feed and she was laying down in the coop with her toes curled under her and her head laid back. She lifted her head when I opened the door, but didn't run from me. I picked her up to look her over. Normally these girls will run to the the other side of the run when I open the door. I didn't see any obvious sign of injury. I put her down and she tried to walk to the other side, but was very unsteady. She stumbled like she was drunk. I really expected that she wouldn't make it through the night. I didn't seperate her. Maybe I should. Today she's still alive and was actually moving around more than she was yesterday. She's still unsteady though and prefers to lay down. The other chickens don't seem to be bothering her. They aren't picking on her or anything. What could this be? What can I do for her? The other 2 leghorns that I bought with her are walking around, eating, pecking the ground etc acting normally. I haven't gotten an egg out of any of them yet, but that could be the move and the fact that a predator attacked the old pen they were in and got several of my other chickens. Any advice would be appreciated...also I'd like to know how to worm chickens..I'm sure mine will need it as they eat off the ground.

2. kelar

kelar Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2010
    yacolt