sick laying hen?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by 1cutechick, Oct 21, 2014.

1. 1cutechick

1cutechick Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2014
    this may have been addressed before, but I'm new to the chicken business. One of my leghorn hens is about 6 months old, has been laying. She past couple of days she is staying on the roost. She moves away from me when we enter the coop so I know she can move. We are gone all day and don't get home until almost dark, so I do not know for sure if she leaves the roost or not, but I don't think she is. We have been short 1 egg this past week, so we assume it's her. She had her backside to me last night and I could see her hind feathers looked a little messy. I do not know if she is coming down to eat or drink, but I will try to hand feed her tonight when I get home. I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I thought maybe she's starting her first molt and just doesn't feel good. Any ideas what to look for? I've been reading about egg-bound but she's not walking around or straining as far as I know. Should I separate her to keep a better eye on the poo? I have 6 other leghorns and 2 larger hens all seem to be fine and wandering around. Also 2 roosters. Everybody seems to be getting along fine socially.

2. drChickan

drChickan Out Of The Brooder

Oct 21, 2014
    Playing Piano
    Sounds like shes egg bound... I would separate her and try to keep her warm... See if her vent area looks swollen, and try to feel for an egg.. Keep me posted.. Ive had a lot of experience with egg bound hens.. Hope things go well =)

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio