Sick Rooster

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by J&M Quik Chik, Sep 26, 2018.

1. J&M Quik Chik

J&M Quik Chik Hatching

Sep 26, 2018
    Hi there,
    I am new to all of this. My wife & I got our first chicks in Aug. 2018. It quickly has turned from 10 chicks to 27! A mix of 2 week old to 1 1/2 yr old flock today. They are amazing.

I reach out this morning because I feel there is something wrong with the rooster. We got a group of 10 mature birds a week ago today. It had a full grown Road Island Red Rooster. Beautiful

Yesterday it didn't crow. Didn't come out the coop all day. (they completely free range through our land) This morning I went to open the coop and he is just laying there again. His comb had been bright red and perked up high. Now it is laying to the side and getting dark. even black to the tips.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you,

J&M Quik Chic Rooster.jpg

2. Shadrach

Shadrach Crowing

Jul 31, 2018
    Catalonia, Spain
    My Coop
    My slightly out of date book on free range chicken diseases cites nitrate poisoning and heart condition for the syptoms you describe.
    I've had much the same with some roosters here, particularly the larger breeds.
    I've also read it could be liver and/or kidney problems. I don't think anyone actaully knows.
    If it happens here again I will do a necropsy because I wan't to know the answer.

3. J&M Quik Chik

J&M Quik Chik Hatching

Sep 26, 2018
    Thank you very much.
    I will read up on this so as to get a better understanding. See what we can do to control or fix it.

Shadrach likes this.
  4. Shadrach

Shadrach Crowing

Jul 31, 2018
    Catalonia, Spain
    My Coop
    There are inhibitors for a heart condition. They are very expensive and will be needed for the rest of the chickens life.