Sick, sleepy, pale rooster!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by munchkin123, Nov 13, 2014.

1. munchkin123

munchkin123 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2014
    Hi, this is my first time on Backyard Chickens.

A few days ago, our Black Copper Marin rooster who is about 6 months old began to act strange. He just stands around thecoop and falls asleep. His poop was a little runny, and today his comb and waddle turned pale. He doesn't have runny eyes or nose,but has lost a lot of weight. He seems to be eating O.K. though, and he still scuttles away if we get too close to him. Our hens don't seem to be behaving like this, and we do NOT want to kill him or get ride of him. we think it may be worms, but we're still not sure...

Any ideas would be great! Thank you soooo much!

Last edited: Nov 13, 2014
  2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Sorry about your boy. He is a bit young to be too over loaded with worms, although it is possible. He could have coccidiosis. That will cause runny poop, weight loss and sometimes they go off their feed and water. You might try some Corid or something with Amprolium in his water. You can get this at the feed store. This is put in the water for 5 to 7 days. Follow the directions on the bottle for dosages.

Does he have an signs of respiratory ailments...runny nose, sneezing, raspy breathing? If so, he could be suffering from a respiratory infection to which some Duramycin or Sulfadimethoxine will help to clear it up.

If you don't think he has a respiratory issue, give the Corid a try before worming. If you have had this boy with you since he was a baby and are good with hygiene, it is probably not worms yet. However if the Corid doesn't clear him up, you might try some Wazine, Safeguard Liquid Goat Wormer or Valbazen to worm him.