Sick Toulouse Goose (Female) - Looses balance and falls over, head tllted - Ear infection or ??? Ho

Discussion in 'Geese' started by SpottedSaddle, Jul 27, 2014.

1. SpottedSaddle

SpottedSaddle Hatching

Feb 13, 2013
    Tempe, Arizona
    I have a 3 or 4 year old Toulouse goose (Female). She's been a tough goose until lately, putting up with 110 plus temps in Arizona.

My geese normally eat bermuda grass and weeds and have access to fresh water at all times.

She was lethargic yesterday so I brought her inside to let her cool off and gave her water and chicken scratch slightly moistened. Her one eye was closed, but both are open today. She sleeps ALOT.

I put her in the tub to clean her up and see if it refreshed her. She did get a bit spunky in the tub, but had problems holding her head properly.

I've attached a picture of her with her sideways look.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. "Maxine" is a spunky gal and I'd like her to get better soon.

I'm new to geese so please explain any acronyms and provide a source if suggesting a remedy.

Thank you

Bart D. Hull
    Laveen, AZ

[​IMG]

2. Iain Utah

Iain Utah Crowing 6 Years

Dec 17, 2011
    I do not know what could be causing your goose trouble, but if she is showing signs of distress I am sure it is quite serious. Perhaps she ate something toxic? Do you have a vet in your area to take her to? I hope someone else chimes in to help. Best of luck!

3. TiaRC

TiaRC Songster

Jul 16, 2013
    Carteret county, NC
    She needs minerals and vitimins. She has a deficienty. You can get a paste or a water adder at a feed store

4. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Loving this country life Premium Member 8 Years

Could it be heat stroke? I would dif get some electrolytes to add to her drinking water.. 110 temps is pretty hot.

Preventing & Treating Heat Stroke