Silkie and Ameraucana's boys or girls

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by mustangsaguaro, Jun 15, 2011.

1. mustangsaguaro

mustangsaguaro Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2007
    San Martin, Ca
    So, I have 5 Ameraucana's and 2 silkie chicks I hatched myself. All are 7 weeks old right now. Any guesses as to what I've got boys or girls? I have a feeling I know but want to see if my guesses are what others think. And as to the 2 silkies what color would they be considered to be? I'm thinking lavenders but not 100% sure.

[​IMG]
    photo 1

[​IMG]
    photo 2

[​IMG]
    photo 3

[​IMG]
    photo 4

[​IMG]
    photo 5

[​IMG]
    photo 6

[​IMG]
    photo 7

2. chicklover16

chicklover16 queen of flirts

Jun 3, 2011
    Em's Dungeon
    I'm not an expert on silkies but here's my guess:

Pic 1, hen

pic 2, roo

pic 3, hen

pic 4, hen

pic 5, hen

pic 6, hen

pic 7, hen

enjoy your BEAUTIFUL birds. [​IMG]

3. mustangsaguaro

Nov 30, 2007
    San Martin, Ca
    bump, anyone else care to take a guess?

4. JulieNKC

JulieNKC Overrun With Chickens

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City
    Not sure on anyone yet, but
    1-roo
    2- pullet
    3- roo
    4- pullet
    5- ?
    6- pullet
    7- pullet
    Try updating your pics in 2 weeks or so, probably be a lot more accurate on guesses by then. [​IMG]

5. magicpigeon

magicpigeon Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2010
    1. Roo
    2. Roo
    3. Pullet
    4. Pullet
    5. ?
    6. Pullet
    7. Pullet

Congratulations! [​IMG]

6. mustangsaguaro

Nov 30, 2007
    San Martin, Ca
    hmm. Now you've all got me stumped. As I thought the following

1. female
    2. male
    3. male
    4. male
    5-7. females

Would like to know for those of you that thought pic 1 is a male why is that. And for pics 3 and 4 why females and not males? What traits are you looking at that would make you think pics 3 & 4 are females and not males?

Thanks

7. snowburton8

snowburton8 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 14, 2011