Silkie breeders/owners South Africa

Discussion in 'Where am I? Where are you!' started by Nanna34, Oct 12, 2015.

1. Nanna34

Nanna34 Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi everyone, thought I would start a thread for Silkie breeders/owners in South Africa. Would love to hear from anyone who breeds or own Silkies in SA with loads of pics of course [​IMG]. I love showing of my roo and hens whenever I can.

I'm new to Silkies I currently have the following in my silkie flock:
    1 white roo
    2 white hens
    1 black hen
    1 silver hen
    1 brown hen (she is still with the breeder I bought her from)
    1 white show quality chick
    1 black show quality chick
    2 show quality chicks (still with the breeder)

I currently have 11 eggs in the incubator they are due to hatch soon

pics of the flock:

Silkies roaming with my goslings
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    show quality chicks
    [​IMG]

Please please please be a roo
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    White and black hens
    [​IMG]
    the day I got my chow quality chicks
    [​IMG]
    My silver hen
    [​IMG]
    brown hen
    [​IMG]
    My white roo with his two hens (got them for cheap from a lady that did not want them anymore) they are not show quality but the roos comb is so unique and beautiful. I was not planning on breeding with them at first but I have people asking me for chicks from this roo a lot.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

The hen in the front is Satin she has survived heat stroke and an iguana attack (her nickname is now Super girl) she is my ultimate favourite she is so loving and is a great pet for the girls, she gives me 5 eggs a week.
    [​IMG]

2. Cracked SA

Cracked SA Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2014
    Durban, South Africa
    What a variety! All your silkies look wonderful!
    I first bought a 1month old pair from an Indian fellow who stayed near me, and then later another hen at 1 week of age... only to discover that the "pair" was infact 2 hens, and the baby hen was infact a rooster.