Silkie chick lethargic and not really growing

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Snipesmorris, Apr 30, 2011.

1. Snipesmorris

Snipesmorris New Egg

Apr 30, 2011
    Hi everyone. I'm new to chicks, please help. We received 6 baby female chicks in the mail 3 days ago. All different breeds, Orpington, wyendotte, welsummer, astralorp, an Easter egger, and one white silkie. The silkie is the only bantam and she is just under 1/2 the size of the others now. The other chicks are all doing great, very active, eat a ton, drink a lot, trying to fly around, etc. Our silkie started out fine, but has regressed over the past two days. She is very lethargic, mostly standing or laying around while the others climb over and around her. She will drink water and we see her pick at her organic chicken starter feed-- so she is eating and drinking, though not nearly at the level of the rest of the flock. She had a pasted vent that was protruding a bit and pulsating. I think we have gotten that under control, as we washed the butt in warm water, removed the pasted poop, and dried her off with the hairdryer. She walks mostly ok when she does walk but seems to stumble at times- nowhere near as graceful as the others. We've given her some water with molasses and also some water with sugar, both of which she seems to prefer over straight water. We've handled her no more than 2-3 minutes at a time, and that was just to get off the poop. I don't think she has been out of the brooder long enough to get chilled, but she spends much more time closer to the heat lamp than her sisters and we are just so worried abut her. No one is dying on our watch!

Our setup is a 30 gallon plastic storage bin, with pine shaving floor, 24/7 access to organic chick starter and water, with a 250 watt infrared heat lamp 18 inches above the coop. We've tinkered with raising it as much as another 6 inches, but 18 inches does seem to be the sweet spot.