Silkie chicks with swollen eyes? Mille Fleur hen with similar symptoms

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by P0U1TRYP3RS0N, Dec 8, 2007.

1. P0U1TRYP3RS0N

P0U1TRYP3RS0N Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2007
    I have been raising chickens for 5 years now and I have never seen anything like it: I have started out with 15 white silkie chicks two weeks ago- lost 5-they just kept pasting up, and even after I cleaned them off they died. The 10 I have left looked okay until this wednesday........On Wednesday I noticed one of the chicks seemed to be missing an eye-or so I thought-no swelling, just the eye closed and the blue/black little eyelid showing. I thought how sad, but didn't give ti any more thought because he was getting around okay, eating, drinking, etc. Yesterday night, though, I went to check on the chicks and that chick-along with 4 others- all have their eyes really swollen and closed. No discharge or foam-just swollen and closed. They still get around fine, are active, put up a fight when touched, and eat and drink. The black and buff silkies and cochin chick who live in the same brooder seem fine. No swollen eyes. What is this? They are brooded on pine shavings with a red heat lamp. They eat purina start and grow.
    I also won a Mille Fleur hen in a raffle at a poultry show two weeks ago(she looked healthy and was active), and I brought her inside (in a box just a few feet away from the brooder) because she had what looked like a eye infection (no swelling-just closed), a cold (no nasal discharge-just that kind of congested sound occasionally) and was droopy (I thought it was just the weather-she's from tucson and now she's being kept outside in weather cold enough to snow). Within a couple of hours of bringing her in she seems fine.