Silkie color mystery

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Snozzle, Feb 16, 2012.

1. Snozzle

Snozzle Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2011
    Tri-Cities Tennessee
    The black one is obviously black, but the other 2 are what? Silver partridge maybe? I was told they are partridge and they had a lot of red on them as chicks, but now they are this silvery grey color and they have an interesting barred pattern on their wing feathers, is that normal in partridge or would that make them cuckoo? I put a pic of one on here from when I first got them and then some from today. I'm still pretty new to chickens and am clueless about their colors, any input would be very much appreciated.

Oh I forgot to mention, they are only 12 weeks old, so do they still change color later on maybe?

2 days old with still a lot of red
    [​IMG]

Pic from today
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
  2. kentuckysilkies

kentuckysilkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2007
    Winchester Kentucky
    They are gray. Very pretty!!

3. Alexia

Alexia Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2011
    Southern California
    wow. I didn't know thay change colors like that! My grey one was born gray!

4. dandydoodle

dandydoodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2010
    georgia
    Those are pretty. Where did you get them?

5. Snozzle

Snozzle Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2011
    Tri-Cities Tennessee
    A lady gave them to me as a trade for a rabbit. She said her friend in Greenville breeds them. So I never actually got to talk to the breeder. Whatever they are, I love these silly fuzzies.

6. GableBabble

GableBabble Ninja Chicken Herder

May 27, 2010
    The chick is maybe a Partridge? We had one that looked similar as a chick and he was the oddest colored Silkie I ever had the pleasure of owning. There is a site, the link and name escapes me at the moment, that focuses on the color genetics of Silkies.