Silkie experts...what am I??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by txajackson, Aug 15, 2011.

1. txajackson

txajackson Out Of The Brooder

May 31, 2011
    UPDATE!!!!!! I have 3 silkie babies. They are 12-14 weeks old. I have read about streamers on male silkies. I believe I see streamers on 2 of the 3 silkies. Also the little buff/red one is smaller then the other two. What do you think??? I am a newbie, thanks for your advice. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The white one crowed this morning!! [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  2. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    tough call, I have one also, been trying to get it sexed, now at 19 weeks, I think I do, a roo...

[​IMG]

there is a person here on BYC, cjexotic, (they may answer you anyhow), send them a PM and see if they can help, they have 150 silkies...

I am waiting for an egg or crow...slow wait!
    You have gorgeous silkies BTW

3. txajackson

May 31, 2011
    Thanks! Yours is beautiful too! They are so much fun! The problem is that my grown hens dont like them very much. So I would like to get another female is these two end up being roos. It is tough to wait! [​IMG]

4. racuda

racuda Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    North Carolina
    They both look like boys to me. [​IMG]

I have noticed a difference in behavior by the time they reach the age of yours. The males act more alert and have a more upright stance than the girls.

5. txajackson

May 31, 2011
    Yes, the two in question are more aggressive towards eachother. They chest bump and kind of do that stare down thing where they get low and look at eachother. The white one seems to be the dominant one. The little red/buff one will just stand in the corner while the other two "duel."

6. smokeykk

smokeykk Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011
    Pennsylvania
    The hens do a chest bump too! [​IMG]