Silkie foamy white eye Update ***SICK GLWyandotte Today PLEASE HELP!!

aaggjg

Songster
Sep 29, 2011
This morning my 4 month old Silkie has white foam coming from left eye. I am a new chicken owner and I have read through various posts about what this can be but I am still looking for some guidance. I have separated him from the my other 4 girls and they all seem to be fine... so far. I live in the city so I am trying to figure out where I can get the various recommended treatments.

I have attached a photo of the eye ....

108036_tiny_eye_.jpg

Hoping you can help!! Thanks in advance to all of you sage chicken keepers!

Last edited:
Quote:
i had that 2 forgot what it was called but its pretty suroius i couldn't kill the chicken so i put it in my back woods any time i see major sickness i get rid of them cause some u can tret but they are still carriers of the infection but I'm not an expert hopefully someone else can help cause I'm kind intrested what mine had

Tiny is basically the same. I clean his eye and apply Terramycin a few times a day. I've given him some vitamins, garlic, vetRx, colloidal silver etc etc. I am willing to try anything as I can't seem to find tylan in Los Angeles! Does anybody know where I can buy it locally? I ordered some online but it is going to take a few days. I did find one feed store that had a few powder antibiotics but I had no idea if any of those would work. Is there one that I can use until my tylan arrives? Or will my chicken be okay waiting?

Thanks

You can use the Duramycin(tetracycline) until the Tylan gets there. It comes in a powder in pouch as you described. You mix a teaspoon and 1/4 in a gallon of water. It will clump on you so I mix it in small container using a little warm water not hot. Stir it really well and finish fill up to a gallon of water.