Silkie going broody I think.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 3dogcp, Nov 13, 2013.

1. 3dogcp

3dogcp Out Of The Brooder

May 1, 2013
    My 7 month old Silkie won't get off her nest this morning. It's 20 degrees out. Isn't to cold to hatch chicks? Can't be more than 2 eggs under her, one of hers and a pullet egg. What should I do? I'm new at this. Should I bring her inside and put her in my Brooder box with the eggs?

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    I have a broody cochin right now too. We might think its too cold, but they didn't get the memo, I guess. Past experience has told me that the only sure-fire way to break a broody is to have a 12' black rat snake break into the coop and steal the eggs out from under her. Since the snakes are hibernating right now, I am letting her sit. I gave her 4 eggs but I'm hoping only a couple make it as she still has to keep them warm through some of the coldest nights of the year and once they get too big she won't be able to cover them.

I'm letting mine stay in the coop. If I were to bring her inside, it would mess with her acclimatization to our very cold winters. Plus, then I'd have to transition the chicks back outside in the middle of winter. By letting her stay in the coop now, the chicks will be accustomed to the conditions there from the beginning.

I do recommend segregating broodies if at all possible, to keep other hens from messing with her eggs and her chicks after they've hatched. If you can cordon off a corner of the coop with some chicken wire and give her a feeder and waterer of her own, that will allow her to brood in peace, and bond to her chicks for the first few days after they hatch. Once the chicks know which of the hens is their mama, then I remove the barrier and let them out into the flock, and that always works pretty well for me.

3. 3dogcp

May 1, 2013