silkie hen, and sitting on eggs

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Billy-jean, Jun 26, 2011.

1. Billy-jean

Billy-jean Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2011
    Hi all,,
    I have a pair of silkies I would like to breed only once or twice to aquire more hens. (roo's I will find homes for)
    The hen is 1 year old,,and has laid a nest of 5 eggs,,and I have NO clue as of what to expect. Can someone with this experience with silkies
    or similar breeds please explain to me the process of the laying,sitting and all the info i need to make sure she's well on her way to raising chicks?
    I have never done this before, and have no experience with having a hen go broody and hatch out babies. I want to make sure it's all done right!
    Thanks in advance! any info or experiences told would be awesome!!!

[​IMG]

2. renovationmom

renovationmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2011
    Texas Hill Country
    I am no expert, but I do raise silkies. Most hens will know what to do. I make sure my hens get out to eat, so I will go as far as placing treats right in the nest box with my hens, and water close by. Some will say to isolate your sitting hen from the rest of the flock, so she has her own water and food, other hens do not get into her nest, and the baby chicks will be safe when hatched.

I do not know when(at what age) to introduce mama and babies back into the coop, I hope someone else will help out.