Silkie Hen Constantly Turning around in circles

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jhrutkay, Mar 31, 2009.

1. jhrutkay

jhrutkay Out Of The Brooder

Feb 9, 2009
    I have this hen who seems really nervous all the time......she is a silkie.....she literally stands in one spot and turns around in circles.........I am a newbie with silkies..........is this normal behavior for silkies. It does not seem to matter if she is with other chickens or if she is caged by herself, she continues to do this. Any ideas on what I can do......or should I just not worry.

Thank you.

2. Keriamon

Keriamon Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2009
    Is she bored? Sometimes horses that are kept in barns all the time will get bored and will start swaying back and forth (and certain, more high-strung horses/breeds are more prone to do this). They'll do it for hours. It can become such a habit, they'll do it even if they're let out. It can take some frequent interaction and stimulation to break them of it.

I assume chickens, like horses, are creatures of habit, so even if you can figure out and remove whatever caused her to start going into circles, she'll probably need something to break the habit. I mean, even if another chicken is the problem, she can be so hung up on circling that she does it even when alone (just like a horse continuing to sway in a pasture that it's free to run around in).

Have you tried, when she's alone, giving her a toy to see if she will get more interested in it than in circling? I've seen on here people recommending pine cones, bells and mirrors as things that chickens find fascinating and that they like to spend a lot of time playing with. Maybe if she finds a new way to occupy herself, she'll forget about circling and will break the habit.

3. deborah the silkie

deborah the silkie Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2008
    Phoenix