Silkie hen sitting on eggs please help

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by derricknapril, Sep 18, 2009.

1. derricknapril

derricknapril Out Of The Brooder

Sep 18, 2009
    Oxford, GA
    Hi, I am new at this and was wondering if anyone could help me? I have 4 white silkie hens and one white silkie roo. The hens have layed 4 eggs over the last 2 days. She has began to sit on them. Is there anything special I need to do? Do I need to turn them (like I would in an incubator)? Also if and when they do hatch I was told I needed to bring them inside. Is this true or do they need to stay with their mother. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Chickenmaven

Chickenmaven Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 6, 2009
    Michigan
    I would isolate Mama, using a large dog crate. Make sure she has room to get off the nest & stretch her legs, eat, poop, etc. You do NOT have to turn her eggs or take the chicks. This is the great thing about broodies. THEY DO ALL THE WORK!!! [​IMG] [​IMG]

Good luck!

3. juliecox

juliecox Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 27, 2009
    Arlington, TX