Silkie honks like a goose?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chickiedoo, Nov 30, 2010.

1. chickiedoo

chickiedoo Out Of The Brooder

Sep 28, 2010
    I am very new to chickens, have had mine about 4 months now. I only have 3, but my Black Sexlink and my Rhode Island Red have high pitched cute little birdie cheeps like I would expect, however, I have a 4-5 month old black Silkie that sounds like a goose. I was just curious if this is common or if it might signify a cold or something like that. Please please please dont tell me it means she is a he lol. I love my Chickiedoo and was just curious if this is maybe something common to silkies.

2. The Fairy Godmartyr

The Fairy Godmartyr Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2010
    I honestly never hear much of anything out of my silkie pullet. I wouldn't say that my roo sounds like a goose, but he definitely has a, um, UNIQUE crow. He almost sounds like he has laryngitis--it is the most pathetic/hilarious thing you have ever heard. [​IMG]

Is the silkie making the honks in the same way as the others are peeping? Or is it more of a stretch-out-the-neck-and-let-loose kind of a thing? If it is the latter, I'd say you may have a rooster on your hands. (Incidentally, I said that I wouldn't have any roosters because I didn't want to annoy my neighbors, but my silkie can't even be heard from inside MY house most of the time, and the coop is right behind my attached garage. My neighbors hear the rooster 1/4 mile away more than they do mine, so he gets to stay.)

3. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

My silkies do a lot of whistling. But the roos definitely crow.

They don't "hhooooonnnnn" like a goose though.

4. The Fairy Godmartyr

The Fairy Godmartyr Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2010