Silkie Incubation

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by moomee56, Mar 13, 2011.

1. moomee56

moomee56 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2011
    So. Cal
    Since bantams hatch early what day would you want to stop egg turning? And will someone explain the whole lock down thing to me, please?[​IMG]

2. moomee56

Mar 1, 2011
    So. Cal
    Anyone? [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. Squishy

Squishy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2011
    Florida
    Well, I'm no expert.. but you haven't got any replies yet so I will try to answer.
    "Lockdown" is when you stop turning the eggs and don't open the incubator, starting on day 18. You want to give the chicks time to orient themselves properly for hatching. And you want to raise your humidity and keep your temps steady for the hatch, so opening the incubator is somewhat detrimental to that.
    I...umm.. am not sure about the bantam thing (anyone?).. but I thought it was just that they hatch a day early more often than other types?
    With my Silkies, I went into lockdown on day 18, and they hatched in the evening on day 21.
    But I've also read that turning isen't strictly necessary after day 14, as there is no longer danger of the embryo becoming stuck to the shell.... So it shouldn't hurt if you want to lockdown early. [​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  4. Lacrystol

Lacrystol Hatching Helper

Jun 13, 2009
    Diamond, Ohio