Silkie leg trouble

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by TurtleFeathers, Apr 20, 2009.

1. TurtleFeathers

TurtleFeathers Fear the Turtle!

Jan 9, 2009
    By the Chesapeake Bay
    Hi all -

This could get alittle long, so let me apologize in advance...

Let me start by saying, I have a group of 8 silkies who hatched last October - they have never been outside because of the cold weather over the winter. I'm waiting on my chicken house to be completed as we speak (we're running a bit late because of construction delays).

Anyway, back in late January, I found my beautiful 3 month old grey silkie pullet sitting on the floor of the indoor pen, and it looked as if she was sitting on an egg. I thought she was a tad too young for eggs at that point, but I'm new to chickens, so I wasn't sure. I tried to get her to move, and wasn't surprised when I didn't find an egg - but I was surprised to find that she couldn't stand, and was having trouble moving her legs. She didn't seem to be able to use her feet at all. Her legs and feet looked absolutely normal - no cuts, no sores, no bleeding, no swelling, no redness, nothing, so I was very confused.

I separated her from the flock immediately, and not knowing what to do, I put her in a hospital cage on heat, thinking she was probably going to die, if not from whatever was wrong, but from the stress of it all. She sat in a basket with food and water right in front of her and slowly improved.