Silkie - Picking, Injured Leg, Trouble Seeing

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by monica3108, Feb 3, 2015.

1. monica3108

monica3108 New Egg

Feb 3, 2015
    I was looking for any suggestions on what to do with my Silkie, she has been having some problems with with my other chickens picking her feathers on her head. I have used BlueKote and it seems to help for a bit, but after a day it's not as effective. She has a large bare spot, probably 1" square. I never really had any problems till it got really cold and the girls didn't go out to the run. I am talk about weeks with the windchill at -40, it has been better the last few weeks, but the temps are dropping again. My girls are just now about a year old and I am new to raising chickens, but I really have had any troubles till now. I have taken my silkie out from the coop and she is alone now. I feel bad that she's alone, but I felt worse that she was being picked on. She was with a Buff Orphington, Rhode Island Red, Black Sex Link, Easter Egger and a Millie Fleur - I have no idea which one is doing it. If I find out I will remove it from the coop and possibly get a silkie so she has a companion. Any suggestions on who it might be?

My silkie is also having a leg problem, limping a little bit. I am hoping keeping her separate in a smaller area will help her heal up.

She also seems to have trouble seeing, missing her food. Unlike the other chickens. I am wondering if the feathers are in her eyes, I am going to trim them up tomorrow, but cold it make it that bad she couldn't find her food. The feathers don't really see, to be covering up too much of her eyes. I will find out tomorrow and see if that helps. Are silkies know for eye problems?

I would really appreciate any advice on any of my issues! Thank you!

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio