Silkie Plumage Question (im a newbie silkie owner)

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by kleeo12, Nov 9, 2010.

1. kleeo12

kleeo12 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 9, 2010
    I was wondering if anyone had any info on how long it takes for Silkies to become fluffy? Check out my pic, my silkie is about 4 months old(not sure of its a hen or roo yet) but not as fluffy as other 4 month old silkies ive seen......any info you have would be soooo appreciated [​IMG]

2. Miz Mary

Miz Mary Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2008
    Pacific NW
    Can you put up a bigger picture ?!?

here's my Partridge Silkies at 10 weeks ........my first time with Silkies too - I also have a pair of white silkies .......LOVE this breed !!!

[​IMG]

3. LilPeeps

LilPeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2007
    SE Mass
    Quote:Looks like your silkie is pet quality which is why she's not as fluffy as the show quality birds you see.

4. kleeo12

Nov 9, 2010
    Oohhh nooo....how do I get a show quality?!?! LOL I thought I was going to get fluff balls by the way the lady who sold them to me was talking....p.s How do I post pictures in a post? lol

Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
  5. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Well, I think she's lovely! I'm not a breeder or anything, but if you're looking for SQ, then you need to do some research online, and buy from a breeder. There are lots of breeders here as members too. You can google silkie breeders for your state or area, and find people that way.

Good luck to you!

Sharon

6. robin416

robin416 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 6, 2007
    Four months can be too young to determine how much fluff they are going to end up with. Some don't blossom until nearly a year.

But looking at the lack of feathering on the feet says that they are closer to PQ.

7. kleeo12

Nov 9, 2010
    Oooh ok! So is that something I should look at when picking my chicks, the feathering on the feet?

8. ultasol