silkie roo + other hens?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by cami, Jul 21, 2010.

1. cami

cami Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2010
    this is my first time breeding chickens. i only want to breed my silkies (i have 2 hens and 1 roo) but i also have 2 orpingtons and an aracona.will my silkie roo try to breed with my other chickens?
    how should i take care of a broody hen, eggs, and chicks? how can i tell when the eggs are fertilized?

2. cami

cami Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2010
    also how often will a roo mate? how often will there be fertile eggs? how many fertile eggs are averagely in a clutch?
    i want infertile eggs for breakfast too [​IMG]

3. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009
    He will breed with all the girls available.

Do you have a broody already? A search would get you 90% of the way there.

He will breed as often as he can get it...10+ times a day, sometimes more, sometimes way more.

I don't know what you mean by "fertile eggs in the clutch". If he is mating the hens, they should all be fertile. Especially if you only have 5 or 6 hens.

Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
  4. mama2many

mama2many Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2010
    My silkie roo had 9 babies with an EE and 3 with his silkie wife......at the same time. He only mates with those two. My big Roo mates with EVERYONE including the Guineas all day long, but there have been no babies yet, I'm sure that will happen eventually. My silkie EE mixes are pretty except the roo. He looks kinda wild and has poor behavior to go with it. You should be fine, but if you only want silkies better lock them up.

5. mama2many

mama2many Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2010