Silkies and Velociraptors Coop

anatess

Chirping
Mar 9, 2017
Hi all. I tried searching but there's just sooo much stuff on BYC that I can't find what I need. I'm very new to chickens. I've only had chickens since last September when my chickens were just babies. They lived in an old aquarium in my bedroom until a couple months ago when I finally got a chicken coop.

Well, just a few minutes ago, my husband called to tell me he got me 4 velociraptors. I know that's not their name, but I don't know what they're called. They're little chickens - a lot smaller than my silkies. My silkies are little chickens too - like half the size of the regular chicken but these velociraptors are even smaller than the silkies and really skinny with long bare legs. They remind me of velociraptors and they even run like one.

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody is familiar with this breed and if they can be kept with the silkies in my chicken coop.

The "room" part of the coop is 2'x3' big with 2 1.5'x1.5' extensions for a brooding nest. My 5 silkies are wierd - they all huddle together in one brooding nest leaving the rest of the "room" unoccupied. The room has a door that opens to a ramp that goes down to the screened-in area that is 3'x4'. I open the door to that area in the daytime and put a dog kennel against it that is another 2'x'4' area. I wanted to just take out the dog kennel and let the chickens roam my entire backyard (80'x40') but my husband says we have to figure out a way to scare the hawks away from the backyard first.

So, my first question - how many silkies maximum can my current set-up house? My 2nd question - anybody know what these velociraptors are, if they can live in the same coop as silkies, and how many velociraptors maximum can my current set-up house (without the silkies)? I'm thinking if they can't live with silkies, I can just buy that exact same coop for the raptors.

Thank you for your help.