Silly question about feeding.

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by benchguy57, Aug 9, 2014.

1. benchguy57

benchguy57 New Egg

Aug 8, 2014
    St. Louis
    So I'm new to back yard chickens, less than a week.
    The question I have is should I feed my chicken with a gravity feeder in their coop? Or should I just throw it out in their run?
    Thanks for the input.

2. chikkenfriend

chikkenfriend Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2013
    Texas
    My Coop
    Welcome, benchguy. We've had our birds about a year and a half. They're loads of fun and a lean, mean egg machine. 29 birds. 9 Barred Plymouth Rocks, 6 Red Stars (sex links), 4 Buff Orpingtons, 1 Black Australorp, 5 Lavender Guineas, 4 white guineas.

Now, feeders. I use gravity feeders inside the coops. My birds like to go in to eat. The shade helps, it's also handy to have a little dinner right before bed.

But the main thing is that it trains them to come home at night. My birds free range. But come dusk and they're all around the feeder for a bedtime meal. It's worked out well for us. Good luck

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. fshinggrl

fshinggrl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    the edge of insanity
    [​IMG]

I would not recommend throwing the food on the ground. What happens when it rains? I actually would throw some horse oats out for the chickens when I was a kid and guess what started growing in their pen?! Yep.. Oats! I would suggest some sort of feeder. The one that the previous poster uses is very common and is what I am currently using but I plan on making a different feeder before my new chicken coops is done. I am using a garbage can (13 gallon plastic) but this one uses a 5 gallon bucket. Check out this thread here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...te-5-gallon-25-feed-bucket-feeder-for-about-3 !!

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]

I kind do both [​IMG]