Sitting Chicken Please help me

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by nonnas girls, Mar 9, 2017.

1. nonnas girls

nonnas girls New Egg

May 29, 2014
    So I am kind of new at this. I have a beautiful black Austarlorp , she is 4 and has really been a wonderful chicken, never broody, always a good layer. Recently, about the past week and a half, she just sits down. She goes out to forage, she just sits down. In the yard (under the coop) she just sits. If one of the others bother her, she gets up and then sits in the corner. I thought she might be egg bound. I tried the hot bath, lubricated the vent (but I did not feel an egg). Kept her in overnight becasue what I read said if she is egg bound she won't live more than 48 hours. 3 days and she is still alive. Her comb and waddles are a beautiful red, she does not appear sick at all. Her feathers are as beautiful as always, she is very healthy but all she does is sit. I take very excellent care of my chickens, they are somewhat spoiled. They get organic pellets, fresh water with Braggs apple cider vinegar in their water. They get a little hot oatmeal on a cold morning. They live in a Coupe De Ville for a home. They are out forraging every day for a few hours. Could someone please help me. I will not cull her, I will not wring her neck,cut off her head, put her in a box hooked up to the exhaust on a car or drown her. (Some online suggestions) but I dont want her to suffer. The coop is clean,fresh pine shavings, clean and disinfected. I just don't know what to do. What could be wrong?

2. CascadiaRiver

CascadiaRiver Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2014
    Pacific Northwest
    Have you checked her legs? Do they seem to bother her? Is a vet check up possible? I know its hard to find one and many people dont want to spend the money it would take for a chicken but it may be a simple solution :)

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio