Six Sweet Sick Chicks 12 weeks young

mkfspikey

In the Brooder
Apr 23, 2017
Tennessee
2 Americanas, 2 Reds, 1 Silver Lace Wyandotte, and 1(the sweetest) Buff Orpington.
Got them all at 2-3 weeks old, right after Easter. They've done great and seem to get on well,so far, with one another.
I'm brand new to chicken raising and have been absorbed in educating myself about all the do's and don'ts.
A friend read where they like cheese and began treating them with it every day. After about day 5 of this, when I went to open the coop I heard a scary sort of barking or small donkey sound. One of them was sick but I couldn't figure which one! Now all of them have sounded "hoarse" when they chirp.
I've been putting garlic cloves and apple cider vinegar in their water and gathering and chopping up herbs (rosemary, oregano, dill, lemon grass, and thyme) topped with cinnamon and adding it to their food. Also treated each with a drop of Vet RX by beak and rubbing it onto their heads, necks, and under their wings. No more barking and a little less hoarseness but I'm still concerned.
Does anyone else know what I can do to help them get well?
Was it possibly too much cheese that caused this respiratory type illness?
They haven't had any more cheese and seem to act normally, eating, drinking, and foraging, to date.
I also wonder at what age their chirps turn into more adult sounding clucks?
I'm hoping their voices are just changing.
HELP!!!

Hi :welcome

Glad you could join us here! I too have never heard of cheese being fed regularly to chicks or chickens. But as you have now stopped this I would think this could have been the cause of some of the issues. How's the ventilation in their coop? Do you have plenty of it? Sometimes things can be picked up from a dusty environment.

Good luck with them in the future and I'm sure if you post in the emergency section you will get lots more help.

Enjoy your time here on BYC and all the chicken chat :frow