Six sweeties gone - possible fox

ausash

In the Brooder
12 Years
Mar 19, 2007
I believe a fox got three of my hens this morning and three of my 3 week old babies also. They were all there this morning when I left and gone when I came home about 7 hours later. There is a fox that keeps crossing the field behind us but so far had not bothered anybody but the neighbor has been feeding it. The other neighbors said they saw it this morning cross over around 9:00am and now they have feathers all over their yard. No signs of digging under the fence so it is going over the fence and hauling the chickens over the fence again. Anybody have any clue how to get rid of it before it takes the rest of my now much smaller flock? This is happening in daylight hours and not nighttime.

Thanks.

I'm very sorry to hear about your losses. I have no experience with foxes but if it happened to me I would run some kind of electric wire. I don't really like the stuff but if something got any of mine during the day I think that's the first thing I'd do. My chickens free range all day and I wouldn't want to have to keep them inside so I guess I'd figure out what to do to secure the perimeter. Sorry I don't have any other good suggestions.

I am so sorry for your losses. WHY ON EARTH would anyone FEED a fox??? These act of "kindness" are ULTIMATELY the demise of the animal. They are makeing it people friendly, and someone will get hurt...a child..dog...or more chickens.

Just my opinion...you have 2 choices.

1. Electric fence

2. S S S ( Shoot shovel SHHhh)

I personally would opt for 1...if that didnt work, then 2