Size?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by lovesgliders, Jul 29, 2011.

1. lovesgliders

lovesgliders Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2011
    Maine
    I am new to ducks and have had limited exposure to them.

A person down the road from me has a flock of (what appear to be) Rouens, Swedish, and Cayugas. These things are HUGE! All I knew when I ordered ducks was that if I wanted something the size of a goose, I'd get a goose. LOL

So, with that in mind, I ordered a trio of Mallards.

Now they are getting ready to move outside and I have duckling fever. I really want a pair of Welsh Harlequins. However I am wondering what size the adults are? I can't find much online but a weight... and I am having trouble picturing the size of a duck by weight. I couldn't tell you what my Mallards weigh.

Are WHs closer to a Mallard in size, or those ginormous Rouens?

2. GrannyCarol

GrannyCarol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 7, 2011
    Washington
    Mallards probably weigh a couple of pounds mature. Welsh Harlequins will be about 4 lbs and the big meat breeds you are talking about can be easily twice (or more) the size of the WH. So, your WH would be larger than the Mallards, but you won't confuse them with geese. [​IMG]

3. lovesgliders

Apr 2, 2011
    Maine
    Quote:Thanks so much! Could you also tell me where Muscovies fall on the size scale?

4. GrannyCarol

Jul 7, 2011
    Washington
    Huge. [​IMG] They are a large duck breed and the males are supposed to be twice the size of the females. I've never had Muscovies though... I'd expect the boys to be more like 10 lbs - larger than most Mallard derivative meat breeds. If you don't want really large ducks stick with the smaller egg laying breeds, such as Khaki Campbell's, Welsh Halequins, or some of the adorable banty ducks like Call Ducks, or Bantam Silver Appleyards, or East Indies. Those are quite little and mostly ornamental.

5. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England