Skinning whole birds?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Mrs.H, Feb 15, 2014.

1. Mrs.H

Mrs.H Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2010
    I've been reading a lot in these forums (and taking notes) and trying to keep up with some! Just finally got to the end for now of Kuntrygirl's pheeww (sorry if I didnt get your name right!) TS is getting in their chicks soon and I'm going to try 6-8 Cornish meat birds I guess whatever they have, lady said they only get Cornish hens when I asked about Cornish X, not even sure if those are the small ones or what or maybe she doesn't really know. But I was thinking since it's my first time and trying to keep it as easy as possible I was wanting to maybe just skin the whole bird rather than pluck for this first round of meaties but cant find awhole lot of info. We don't eat the skin anyway and I always cook my whole birds in the crockpot. And I do want to pluck my next round but like I said just want to kinda ease into this. You can skin and freeze them whole right? Should I still let them cure in fridge for few days before freezing? I read someone soaked them in a salt water bath, not sure the reason? Any tips, dos and don'ts would be great thanks!

2. Alaskan

Alaskan The Frosted Flake

Skinning is great.

I hate plucking. :sick

If you want to skin the entire bird, it takes a bit, but it is still easier than plucking in my opinion.

For chickens we skin it, then do a slow bar-b-que. MARVELOUS!

For Ducks we just peal back the skin and cut out the breast, thighs and legs. Our ducks have most of their meat in the breast and the legs, so I don't even bother with the back. I just did one today.

However, the back and carcass would make a lovely soup.

3. Alaskan

Alaskan The Frosted Flake

Oh, I usually let them sit in the fridge for a day or two before freezing, but I prefer eating it fresh (after a two day sit in the fridge).

I don't usually brine, but it can add some great flavor.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2014
  4. Mrs.H