Skinny chicken.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by erinc, Oct 1, 2016.

1. erinc

erinc Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2016
    Louisville Ky
    I've got 3 Isa Browns, they are all laying at this point. I believe the one in question isn't as consistent as the other two, Shadow. She just doesn't seems as wide as the other girls. My other two are nice and fluffy, wide, and Blondie produces the largest eggs of the three. Shadow, the one I'm concerned about, eats, drinks, scratches, acts like a normal chicken. If she weren't just small I wouldn't think anything was wrong with her. But since this is my first time raising chickens I'm always over cautious and want to ensure happy, healthy chickens. I've got a flock of 6, my 3 Isas, two EEs and an EE rooster, he's a gem but goes after them like a dog in heat. They've all become submissive to him so I don't believe that is the issue.
    Thanks in advanced.

SHADOW, the darker one, the one in question. & BLONDIE
    [​IMG]
    SHADOW, RICHARD, BLONDIE
    [​IMG]
    SHADOW
    [​IMG]

2. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    Hens mature and grow at different rates.
    Some don't eat quite as much as the other ones or are a bit more active.

Get a baseline weight on her and weigh her at least once a week. If she is not losing weight, is eating, drinking, pooping, acting normal and active, then she is most likely fine.

I have two Buff Orpingtons, one is larger than the other and weighs more. The larger one eats more, is less active and lays an egg on average 5x a week. The other one is smaller, is very active - spends her day digging and rooting around (all day long) - she eats less and only lays on average 3x a week. Same breed, hatchery, environment, feed, etc., but two very different girls.

1 person likes this.
  3. lovechickens23

lovechickens23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2013